Your address will show here +01 (414) 230 - 5550

架内云

 

企业积极部署云技术


传统上,典型的大中型组织在相同数量的单独物理服务器(连接到遗留存储基础架构)上运行数十甚至数百个应用程序。然而,在预算大幅削减的情况下,业务数据的快速增长迫使全球的企业重新评估其运营效率和成本结构,以保持竞争力或仅为求生存。因此,大多数公司积极探索备选解决方案,利用云技术巩固其 IT 基础架构。例如, HIMSS Analytics1最近发布的一项研究表明,目前有 83% 的医疗机构使用基于云的应用程序。实际上,根据 Markets and Markets 的估计,医疗行业的云计算市场有望在 2017 年增长至 54 亿美元。

虽然相对于传统的 IT 实践,云技术具有许多决定性优势,但即使是大型组织,也很难轻易将应用程序和数据移动到云平台。医院对系统管理的要求极高,但预算却十分有限,要同时满足这两项要求,解决方案必须满足以下几点:

  • 符合软件定义数据中心的发展蓝图
  • 使用商用硬件向外扩展
  • 采用开源计算平台
  • 提供无缝数据和应用程序迁移服务以对接遗留 IT 系统
  • 为临界任务工作负载提供企业级的私有云环境


Download Intel® Solutions Reference Architecture.

Solution

从功能集的角度来说,类似 VCE 提供的 Vblock 等集成整体解决方案极具吸引力,但应用此类产品所需的成本也高得离谱。然而,ProphetStor 的架内云解决方案利用了业界领先的开源云计算平台 OpenStack ,并将其与我们先进的软件定义存储 Federator® SDS 进行集成,通过多种专业 数据服务 为企业提供整套软件定义数据中心,同时极具成本效益。

  • Text Hover

此解决方案体系结构包括完整且自足式云环境,能够连接到异构遗留存储系统,并使用商用硬件实现线性向外扩展,实现增长。


关键功能/优势

  • 配置整体解决方案,在架内即可构建完整的云环境
  • 自动化集成式系统,在 PXE 中的商用硬件上部署 OpenStack 和 Federator™ SDS(存储控制器和虚拟机监控程序)
  • 通过 GUI 仪表盘执行虚拟机和存储器的自助式配置
  • 支持遗留和商用存储系统
  • 功能丰富、企业级的数据服务包括数据转移、数据迁移、流量建模、资源弹性控制和灾难恢复
  • 成本效益
    • 首次获取硬件和软件
    • 部署
    • 管理和维护
硬件配置

此解决方案的基础体系结构为单一机架。每个机架即代表一个自足的云平台,包含所有必需的计算、联网和存储资源。向现有机架添加节点或添加结构相同的机架可实现扩展。

  • Text Hover

 

 

10GbE 交换机

  • 48口10Gigabit SFP+ 端口支持 10GbE 或 1GbE
  • 4个QSFP+ 所有接口均支持 40GbE
 

OpenStack Horizon 和 Nova 服务器

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 2
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 4
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G 单网卡 × 1

OpenStack Cinder 和 Neutron 服务器

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 ×1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G 单网卡 × 1
 

Federator™ SDS 部署和控制器服务器

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G 单网卡 × 1
 

Federator™ SDS Flexvisor 存储服务器

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 4TB 3.5″ HDD × 8
  • 10G 单网卡 × 1

 

网络拓扑结构

需要注意的是,所有部署和管理网络均与虚拟机和存储网络分离,从而使控制平面事件与数据平面活动互不干扰。

  • Text Hover
部署过程简单且永不过时

由于预算紧张以及患者对服务质量的要求越来越高,绝大多数企业都积极采用云技术,但要平稳过渡到云平台绝非易事。ProphetStor 的架内云提供模块化解决方案,逐个机架地将云计算引入到现存的遗留 IT 环境中。随着未来需求的增长,可利用不同的机架配置来独立扩展计算和存储资源。Federator® SDS 能够提供确保遗留存储系统数据无缝迁移至软件定义云环境所需的所有工具。

  • Text Hover
结论

越来越多的大中型组织开始尝试基于弹性虚拟基础架构创建的私有云。企业利用开源云平台和先进的软件定义存储技术对不同物理服务器和遗留存储阵列中运行的工作负载进行巩固,可以显著地降低 IT 管理成本,同时提高服务水平和客户满意度。然而,将私有云引入现有遗留 IT 环境中却是一个严峻的挑战,显而易见,企业要保持强大的竞争力,必须采用最新的云技术,但如何应用云技术却极具技术难度。

ProphetStor 的架内云解决方案将计算、联网和存储资源组合到独立单元内,形成一个完全集成的平台,从而解决了上述难题。借助模块化的方法和全自动部署服务,可将此解决方案快速轻松地引入到任何现有 IT 环境。利用 Federator® SDS,现在可在单一虚拟管理平台仪表盘中同时管理新增的横向扩展存储和现有的遗留存储阵列。可以使用 Federator 的数据服务套件逐个将所有应用程序的工作负载迁移到新的云环境。因此,组织可依据自身情况和预算多少构建自己的私有云基础设施,而不会影响未来的发展潜力。

Your address will show here +01 (414) 230 - 5550

Cloud in a Rack

 

Enterprises Embrace the Cloud


Traditionally, a typical medium to large organization runs tens or even hundreds of applications on the same number of individual physical servers connected to a legacy storage infrastructure. However, the rapid growth of business data in the midst of heavy budget cuts forces enterprises around the world to reevaluate their operational efficiency and cost structure in order to stay competitive or just to survive. As a result, most companies are exploring alternative solutions to consolidate their IT infrastructure using the cloud. For instance, according to a recent study published by HIMSS Analytics1, 83% of healthcare organizations are using cloud-based applications today. In fact, the cloud computing market in the health care sector is expected to grow to $5.4 billion by 2017, estimated by Markets and Markets.

Although the cloud offers many decisive advantages over the old-school IT practices, moving applications and data into the cloud poses enough challenges even for the largest organizations. To meet the most demanding system management and budget requirements of the hospitals, a viable solution must:

  • Observe the blueprint of a software-defined datacenter
  • Scale out with commodity hardware
  • Adopt open source computing platforms
  • Offer seamless data and application migration services to bridge the legacy IT systems
  • Provide an enterprise-grade private cloud environment for mission critical workloads.


Download Intel® Solutions Reference Architecture.

Solution

From a feature-set point of view, integrated turnkey solutions such as Vblock from VCE are very attractive propositions, but the costs associated with these offerings are often prohibitively high. ProphetStor’s cloud-in-a-rack solution, on the other hand, leverages the industry-leading open source cloud computing platform OpenStack and integrates it with our state-of-the-art software-defined-storage Federator® SDS to offer organizations a complete package of software-defined datacenter with a host of sophisticated data services, in a very cost-effective fashion.

  • Text Hover

This solution architecture consists of a complete and self-sufficient cloud environment that allows the option to connect to a heterogeneous legacy storage systems while scaling out linearly with commodity hardware for future growth.

Key Features / Benefits

  • Turnkey solution to create a complete cloud environment in a rack
  • Automated, integrated system that deploys OpenStack and Federator SDS (storage controller and hypervisor) on commodity hardware over PXE
  • Self-service provisioning for both virtual machines and storage through GUI dashboards
  • Supports both legacy and commodity storage systems
  • Feature-rich, enterprise-grade data services including data mover, data migration, traffic modeling, elastic resource control, and disaster recovery
  • Cost efficient
    • Initial hardware and software acquisition
    • Deployment
    • Management and maintenance
Hardware Configuration

The fundamental architecture of this solution is based on a single rack design. Each rack represents a self-sufficient cloud platform complete with all necessary compute, networking and storage resources. Scaling can be accomplished by either adding more nodes to an existing rack, or adding more racks sharing the same architecture.

  • Text Hover

 

 

10GbE Switch

  • 48 10Gigabit SFP+ ports supporting 10GbE or 1GbE
  • 4 QSFP+ each supporting 40GbE
 

OpenStack Horizon and Nova Servers

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 2
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 4
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G single NIC × 1

OpenStack Cinder and Neutron Servers

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 ×1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G single NIC × 1
 

Federator SDS Deployment and Controller Servers

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 500G 2.5″ 7200RPM HDD × 2
  • 10G single NIC × 1
 

Federator SDS and Storage Servers

  • Intel Xeon E5-2620 v2 × 1
  • DDR3 RDIMM 16G × 1
  • 4TB 3.5″ HDD × 8
  • 10G single NIC × 1

 

Network Topology

It is important to note that all deployment and management networks are separated from the VM and storage network such that control-plane events do not interfere with data-plane activities, and vice versa.

  • Text Hover
Easy Insertion and Future Proof

Despite the fact that the vast majority of organizations are embracing the cloud technologies due to tightening budgets and the pressure to offer higher quality patient services, the transition into cloud is not always easy. ProphetStor’s cloud-in-a-rack offers a modular solution to introduce cloud computing into existing legacy IT environment, one rack at a time. As future needs grow, compute and storage resources can be scaled independently using different rack configurations. Federator SDS provides all necessary tools to enable seamless data migration from legacy storage systems to the new software-defined cloud environment.

  • Text Hover
Conclusion

Private clouds built on elastic virtual infrastructures are increasingly appealing to the medium to large organizations. By leveraging open source cloud platforms and cutting edge software-defined storage technologies to consolidate workloads run at individual physical servers and legacy storage arrays, enterprises can significantly reduce IT management cost while improving service level and customer satisfaction at the same time. However, introducing a private cloud into an existing legacy IT environment is a daunting challenge, which represents a major hurdle for companies to adopt the latest cloud technologies, even if it is evident that, going forward, cloud is the only viable solution for their business to stay competitive.

ProphetStor’s Cloud-in-a-Rack solution solves this challenge with a fully integrated platform that combines compute, networking, and storage resources in a stand-alone unit. With its modular approach and fully automated deployment service, this solution can be quickly and easily introduced into any existing IT environment. Thanks to Federator SDS, both new scale-out storage and existing legacy arrays can be managed from a single-pane-of-glass dashboard. Workloads can be migrated to the new cloud environment using Federator’s suite of data services, one application at a time. As a result, organizations can find a comfortable pace, and the budget, to start building its private cloud infrastructure without imposing any limitation on future growth potentials.

Share