消除意外中断,缩短任务时间,提高整体效率。

用例描述

整合环境

用于超过250个节点的数据处理HPC集群。

客户/合作伙伴类型
中国石油天然气集团公司(CNPC)。 石油和天然气工业,土地勘探和测量 数据处理。

公司和解决方案背景
中国石油天然气集团公司是世界500强企业,也是世界上最大的能源公司 之一,它在很大程度上依赖于石油勘探地球物理数据的收集和分析。 它 充分了解自然资源的重要性,重点关注可持续发展和环境保护,提供优 质的地球物理产品和服务。 为其运营提供动力的是一个HPC数据中心, 拥有超过3000台服务器,每台服务都连接到直接连接存储。

解决方案架构

要求和挑战


在数据中心的所有选定服务器上并行处理地球物理数据。 100或1000个节 点需要不间断地工作。 即使一个节点发生故障也可能导致重新加载部分或 所有任务作业。 硬件故障,特别是磁盘,在大规模、高密度集群中是不可 避免的,因为它们在计算期间密集访问数据。 为了最大限度地减少硬件故 障造成的中断,公司只能依靠新的和丰富的硬件来处理作业。由此导致硬件 利用浪费超过30%。

解决方案


通过Federator.ai 磁盘故障预测,HPC数据中心可以为所有作业可靠地选择合格的硬 件,而不会延迟服务交付。 与任务计划程序集成可防止在任务启动之前在有风险的节 点上加载作业,从而在作业生命周期内保证整个集群的运行状况。数据中心操作员在作 业之间执行硬件维护,以便为即将到来的任务准备服务器。 Federator.ai还保留了所有 主机和磁盘的性能指标,可用于跟踪任何时间点的异常性能模式。  

解决方案优势

通过消除任务重新加载,将数据处理时间缩短30%以上

通过减少冗余来节省资金,以便其他节点可用于活动生产任务

通过准确的磁盘数据预测老化的硬件, 不需要换掉陈旧但硬件健康的部分

通过将意外故障转换为计划事件,简化硬件管理和维护

Share

Your address will show here +01 (414) 230 - 5550
Eliminate unplanned interruption, shorten task time, and improve overall efficiency.

Use Case Descriptions

Integration Environment

HPC cluster for data processing with over 250 nodes.

Customer / Partner Types
China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC). Oil and gas industry, land exploration and surveying data processing.

Company and Solution Background
A Fortune 500 company, one of the largest energy companies in the world, relies heavily on the collection and analysis of geophysical data for oil exploration. Fully understanding the importance of natural resources, it focuses its mission on sustainable development and environmental protection, providing quality geophysical products and services. Powering its operations is an HPC data center with over 3000 servers, each connected to Directly Attached Storage.

Solution Architecture

Requirements and Challenges


Geophysical data is processed in parallel across all chosen servers in the data center. 100s or 1000s of nodes need to work uninterrupted. Even one node failure can result in reload of partial or all task jobs. Hardware failures, especially disks, are unavoidable at large scale, high-density clusters, due to their intensive data access during computation. To minimize disruptions by hardware failure, the company can only rely on new and abundant hardware to process the jobs. The selection criteria result in more than 30% waste in hardware utilization.

Solution


With Federator.ai® disk failure prediction, the HPC data center reliably selects qualified hardware for any jobs without delay of service deliveries. Integrating with task schedulers prevents loading jobs on risky nodes before a task starts, guaranteeing the health of the entire cluster during the job lifespan. Data center operators perform hardware maintenance in between jobs to prepare servers for coming tasks. Federator.ai® also keeps performance metrics of any hosts and disks, which can be used to track unusual performance patterns at any point in time.  

Solution Benefits

Shorten data processing time by more than 30% by eliminating task reloading

Save money by reducing redundancy, so that other nodes can be used for active production tasks

Leverage aged hardware by having accurate disk data predictions. No more swapping out aged, but healthy hardware.

Simplify hardware management and maintenance by transforming unexpected failures, into planned events.

Share